Desk audit TBR-A-2026-036

Libertex

Independent desk audit of a retail broker, from public sources.

Last updated First published

Current. Valid to 10 October 2027.

TBR DESK AUDIT · PUBLIC SOURCES · BB 41/100

Weak in places

Desk audit. TBR carried out this audit on its own initiative, using public sources only. No firm paid for it. No accounts were opened or tested, so Execution & Pricing and Operational Resilience were not assessed and do not count towards the grade. Libertex may respond, and any response is published in full. How desk audits are scored. See Verified audits, which our trading experts test hands-on.

Summary

Libertex holds a CySEC licence for its EU business, but its international site is operated by Forex Club International LLC of St Vincent and the Grenadines, which names no financial regulator, alongside a Mauritius-licensed company. CySEC reached a €160,000 settlement with the Cyprus company in 2020 and partially suspended its licence for 20 days in August 2021 over its CFD marketing. Its owner is not disclosed.

Grade
BB
Score
41/100
Fieldwork
10 Oct 2026 to 10 Oct 2026
Findings
5 high1 medium4 strength

Scorecard

PillarWeightScoreGrade
Regulation & Licensing19%38B
Corporate Structure & Ownership14%55BBB
Client Money & Payouts19%45BB
Execution & Pricingn/aNot assessed: requires live testing
Conduct & Disclosure14%35B
Operational Resiliencen/aNot assessed: requires live testing
People & Community5%15C
Overall71%41BB

The overall score is the weighted average of the assessed pillars, with their weights scaled back up to 100.

This grade summarises the evidence we reviewed up to 10 October 2026. It is not a guarantee of the firm's safety or future conduct, and changes after that date are not reflected. Nothing here is financial or legal advice.

Findings

Licences verified

Each licence was checked directly against the regulator's public register on the date shown.

EntityRegulatorLicenceCheckedResult
Indication Investments LtdCySEC164/1210 Oct 2026ConfirmedLicensed 31 January 2012; approved domains libertex.com and libertex.de.
MAEX LIMITEDFSC MauritiusInvestment Dealer (Full Service Dealer excluding Underwriting)10 Oct 2026Confirmed with notesLicensed 17 November 2020; the licence number is not shown on the public register.
Libertex group (claimed FSCA and VFSC licences)FSCA and VFSCNot stated by the firm10 Oct 2026DiscrepancyNo Libertex, Forex Club or MAEX company found on the FSCA provider register, the FSCA OTC derivative provider list or the VFSC list of licensed financial dealers.

Notes and sources

Evidence and scope

Scope

Desk audit of the brand’s client-facing entities, using public sources only: regulator registers and announcements, the global LEI system, and the firm’s own published documents, as available on 10 October 2026. No accounts were opened, nothing was tested live, and the firm was not asked for evidence.

Limitations

Absence of a public enforcement record is not evidence of good conduct. Libertex.org could not be loaded live from our location, so the international site’s claims are taken from archived copies. We could not establish which group company holds the FSCA and VFSC licences the firm cites, or the share of clients served by each international company. The regulatory status of the payment company Holcomb Finance Limited was not checked.

Evidence reviewed

  • CySEC register entry, Indication Investments Ltd
  • FSC Mauritius register entry, MAEX LIMITED
  • FSCA and VFSC register searches
  • CySEC announcements of 29 May 2020, 3 August 2021 and 23 August 2021
  • Indication Investments Ltd Pillar III disclosures for 2024
  • GLEIF records for the group companies
  • Libertex EU client agreement and risk disclosure, and libertex.org pages (archived copies)

Version history

  1. Report published.

Request a re-audit

Staff of Libertex can ask us to reopen this audit, for example after correcting a finding or completing remediation. Requests must come from a company email address, and you can attach evidence.

Request a re-audit